Wednesday December 7, 2022
News Sections

JCPS Teachers Named State Achievement Award Winners

Educators qualify to compete for 2017 Teacher of the Year

Three teachers from the Jefferson County Public School (JCPS) District are among the 24 statewide named this week as recipients of the 2017 Valvoline Teacher Achievement Awards by the Kentucky Department of Education and Valvoline.

Winning teachers Carren Cook of Kenwood Elementary, Alexandra Howard of Barret Traditional Middle and Kip Hottman of Fern Creek High now qualify to compete for the 2017 Kentucky Teacher of the Year Award, which will be announced next month.

“I am extremely proud of these remarkable teachers who are highly deserving of this great recognition,” jcps “Each Teacher Achievement Award recipient is selected by a process that includes recommendations from peers, students, parents and administrators – making this award a very special honor and true reflection of the dedication and passion these teachers have for their students and for learning.”

Judging was conducted in August by a blue-ribbon panel of veteran educators, many of whom have more than 25 years of teaching experience.

All 24 teachers will be honored at a ceremony in Frankfort on Oct. 19 in the State Capitol Building. State leaders and Valvoline company officials will honor the teachers and recognize the Kentucky Elementary, Middle and High School Teachers of the Year.

From this group of three finalists, the Kentucky Teacher of the Year will be named and will represent the state in the National Teacher of the Year competition.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *