Friday September 22, 2023
News Sections

President Yates Announces Chairs and Vice-Chairs For 2017 Metro Council Committees

Metro Council President David Yates (D-25) has announced the Chairs and Vice Chairs of the Metro Council’s Standing Committees for 2017.

Several of the Metro Council’s nine Standing Committees will be merged to efficiently address the priorities and needs for Metro Government.

“I believe it is important for the Council to continue to be a diligent, deliberative, legislative body. As we begin a new year it is important that our committees are focused on the needs of the people of Metro Louisville,” said Yates. “These changes will provide our members more time to focus their attention on addressing the major issues of our community. I sincerely thank my colleagues who have agreed to lead our committees as Chairs and Vice -Chairs.”

Among the changes:

Community Affairs & Housing  has been merged with Health & Education
Contracts and Appointments has been merged
Sustainability & Parks has been merged with Public Works & Transportation
Government Accountability & Ethics has been merged with Intergovernmental Affairs

President Yates will chair two committees: the Committee on Committees and the Committee of the Whole.  The President of the Metro Council is also an ex officio member of all other committees.

Chairs and Vice-Chairs for Metro Council Committees in 2016

Committee on Committees:David

  • David Yates (D-25) Chair
  • Bill Hollander (D-9) Vice Chair

Committee of the Whole

  • David Yates (D-25) Chair
  • Bill Hollander (D-9) Vice Chair

Appropriations NDF’s and CIF’s:

  • Rick Blackwell (D-12) Chair
  • Angela Leet (R-7) Vice Chair


  • Marianne Butler (D-15) Chair
  • Kevin Kramer (R- 11) Vice Chair

Contracts & Appointments

  • Mary C. Woolridge (D-3) Chair
  • Marilyn Parker (R-18) Vice Chair

Community Affairs, Housing, Health & Education

  • Barbara Shanklin (D-2) Chair
  • Dan Johnson (D-21) Vice – Chair

Government Accountability, Ethics and Intergovernmental Affairs:

  • Pat Mulvihill (D-10) Chair
  • Julie Denton (R-19) Vice – Chair

Labor and Economic Development:

  • Cheri Bryant-Hamilton (D-5) Chair
  • Stuart Benson (R-20) Vice Chair

Planning, Zoning, Land Design, and Development:

  • Madonna Flood (D-24) Chair
  • Glen Stuckel (R-17) Vice Chair

Public Safety:

  • David James (D-6) Chair
  • James Peden (R-23) Vice Chair

Public Works, Parks, Sustainability, & Transportation:

  • Cindi Fowler (D-14) Chair
  • Brent Ackerson (D-26) Vice Chair

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *