Thursday February 2, 2023
News Sections

Secretary Grimes Recognizes Kentucky Civic Education Leaders In Rupp Ceremony

Secretary of State Alison Lundergan Grimes on Thursday recognized educators and community leaders for their work to promote civic education and engagement in Kentucky. She held a ceremony at Rupp Arena during the Whitaker Bank/KHSAA Boys’ Sweet 16 and honored an individual from each KHSAA region and a statewide recipient.

“Right now, teachers and educators are routinely being disrespected by the Governor and members of the General Assembly,” said Grimes. “And while the men and women who make positive impacts in the lives of our young people and inspire their growth are being insulted, at the same time, resources are being cut from education. Today, I expressed to these leaders that they are valued and the work they do is crucial to the future of our Commonwealth. They pour their energy into the success of Kentucky’s youth and deserve not only respect but accolades. Our Civic Education Leadership Award honors their outstanding work.”

The Kentucky Outstanding Civic Education Leadership Award program recognizes teachers, school administrators, legislators and community leaders who have made notable contributions toward promoting or implementing civic learning to prepare students to be active and engaged in their communities.

Eric Sexton of Edmonton (Region 4) received the 2018 award. He organizes leadership government sessions for local middle and high school students, which provides them first-hand experience with state government in Frankfort and meetings with their state legislators. Sexton regularly helps organize high school voter registration and education drives. As a career/college coordinator in Metcalfe County, Sexton oversaw a 20 percent increase in college-bound graduates. He received a $1,000 award to be used toward resources for his civic programs.

The 16 regional finalists are:

  • Region 1 – Michael Robinson
  • Region 2 – Joseph Riley
  • Region 6 – Jonathan Joseph
  • Region 7 – Jan Helson
  • Region 10 – Sara Wells
  • Region 11 – Josh Mers
  • Region 12 – Jeff Moss
  • Region 13 – Jeff Phillips
  • Region 14 – Vivian Carter
  • Region 15 – Fran Booth
  • Region 16 – Lea Ann Reeves-Gollihue

Each regional finalist received a $250 award for their civic education programs.

The Secretary of State’s office’s partners with Kentucky Administrative Office of the Courts, which judges the nominations, and Kentucky Department of Education to present this award annually.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *