Saturday June 22, 2024
News Sections

Higher Ed Community Presents Awards To Distinguished Faculty, Alumni At Governor’s Conference On Postsecondary Trusteeship

Group photo of award winners

The higher education community honored two faculty members and three alumni Tuesday at the 2017 Governor’s Conference on Postsecondary Education Trusteeship conference. The awards ceremony followed remarks by Gov. Matt Bevin.

Council President Bob King said, “This year’s honorees are truly exceptional, and we are delighted to honor them for their many contributions to enrich the lives of our students and campus communities.”

The Acorn award recognizes exceptional teaching and professional achievement. Honorees include:

  • Matthew Winslow, Lexington, professor of psychology, Eastern Kentucky University
  • Stacy Taylor, Louisville, professor of English and humanities, Jefferson Community and Technical College.

The OAK award honors outstanding graduates for achieving statewide or national recognition in their careers and for exhibiting a lifelong affection for their alma mater and to Kentucky. Recipients include:

  • David Beck, Louisville, executive vice president and chief executive officer of Kentucky Farm Bureau Federation
  • Michael Mountjoy, Louisville, partner at Mountjoy, Chilton and Medley, LLP, CPAs and Advisors
  • Richard Boehne, Newport, president and chief executive officer of E.W. Scripps Co.

Recipients were nominated by their university or college president.

The OAK award was first presented in 1987 and the Acorn award was begun in 1992.


Matthew Winslow

Matthew Winslow, of Lexington, is a professor for Eastern Kentucky University’s Department for Psychology. Winslow holds a Bachelor of Arts from Macalester College in Minnesota, a Master of Arts from the University of California-Santa Cruz and a doctorate from the University of Minnesota. In addition to teaching several undergraduate statistics/research methods courses and multiple sections of social psychology, he has taught several seminars and special topics courses, and serves as research mentor to undergraduate and Honor’s Program students. Winslow was named the Psychology Department’s Advisor of the Year, and is currently serving as chair of the faculty senate.

Eastern Kentucky University President Michael Benson nominated Winslow.

Stacy Taylor

Stacy Taylor, of Louisville, is an associate professor and the department head of English at the downtown campus of Jefferson Community and Technical College. She holds a Bachelor of Arts in English and Master of Arts in Literature in English, as well as is working on her doctorate in rhetoric and composition, from the University of Louisville. She teaches several English composition courses, as well as humanities courses, and serves on Jefferson Community and Technical College’s General Education faculty. She serves as the co-chair of the Faculty Council, on several Achieve the Dream committees, the Kentucky Association for Developmental Education Executive Board, and chairs the system-wide curriculum committee for English.

Jefferson Community and Technical College President Ty Handy nominated Taylor.

David Beck

David Beck, of Louisville, holds a Bachelor of Science in agriculture from Murray State University. He currently serves as executive vice president and chief executive officer of the Kentucky Farm Bureau Federation. Beck is active in both state and national agricultural organizations, including the Future Farmers of America National Convention Host Committee, Kentucky 4-H Foundation, Kentucky Agricultural Council and Kentucky Fair Council. Beck also assists in recruitment and student initiatives for the Hutson School of Agriculture at Murray State University. He was named Outstanding Agriculture Alumnus, as well as Distinguished Alumnus, of the university.

Murray State University President Bob Davies nominated Beck.

Michael Mountjoy

Michael Mountjoy, of Louisville, holds a Bachelor of Accounting from the University of Kentucky. He is the founding member of Mountjoy, Chilton and Medley, LLP, CPAs and Advisors, the largest Kentucky-based accounting firm. Mountjoy serves on numerous professional and community associations, including University of Kentucky fellow, honorary board of trustee member for the University of the Cumberlands, chair of the Gheens Foundation, Inc., and past president of the Kentucky Society of Certified Public Accountants. Mountjoy was named one of CPA Magazine’s “Top 100 Most Influential CPA’s” and Louisville Magazine’s “50 Most Powerful People in Louisville.”

University of the Cumberlands President Larry Cockrum nominated Mountjoy.

Richard Boehne

Richard Boehne, of Newport, holds a Bachelor of Arts in communication from Northern Kentucky University. He is the president and CEO of E.W. Scripps Company, a digital media company located in Cincinnati. Boehne serves as Board of Regents chair and on the Foundation Board of Directors for Northern Kentucky University. He has received the Outstanding Alumnus Award and The Lincoln Award from Northern Kentucky University, and the First Amendment leadership Award from the Radio Television Digital News Foundation for his work on free speech.

Northern Kentucky University Interim President Gerard St. Amand nominated Boehne.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *