Tuesday June 25, 2024
News Sections

Actors Theatre Proudly Announces 2017-2018 Professional Training Company

Photo: Actors Theatre of Louisville

Artistic Director Les Waters and Managing Director Kevin E. Moore are proud to introduce the 2017-2018 Professional Training Company. Each year, Actors Theatre of Louisville invites the most talented and highly motivated early-career theatre professionals in the nation to undertake a nine-month long training program that combines hands-on practical experience with educational seminars and professional guidance. Entering its 46th Season, Actors Theatre’s Professional Training Company is one of the oldest pre-professional training programs in the nation, and has built an incredible legacy of supporting the long-term vitality of American theatre through the mentorship and fostering of the best forthcoming talent in the field.

Waters shared, “I am thrilled to see this vital program continue to flourish and witness our alumni colleagues expand their leadership in arts communities across the country. Actors Theatre is honored to champion these talented young professionals as they become the next generation of theatre artists and leaders.”

Selected from more than 2,000 applicants from across the nation the 2017-2018 Professional Training Company consists of 42 college graduates—each of whom is extremely talented in their chosen field.  Through their participation in the nine-month long program over the course of the 2017-2018 Season, they will receive practical training, the opportunity to work with celebrated artists, and a firsthand look at the inner workings of one of the nation’s leading regional theatres.  The company will also mount a number of productions, including new work by nationally renowned playwrights, and original creations developed by the members of the company themselves.

The Professional Training Company has launched the careers of many burgeoning leaders in theatre, both at Actors Theatre and elsewhere nationwide. Timothy Busfield (Thirtysomething, The West Wing), Lila Neugebauer (Director The Wolves, Everybody, Signature Plays Off-Broadway), Jenny Robertson (Bull Durham, Role Models), Brendan Pelsue (Playwright of Wellesley Girl), Josh Hopkins (Cougar Town, Quantico), Sarah Lunnie (Literary Director, Playwrights Horizons), Jeff White (How to Get Away with Murder, House of Cards), Mirirai Sithole (Master of None, The Death of the Last Black Man…), Chris Boneau (Publicist and Co-Founder of Boneau/Bryan-Brown), Lisa McNulty (Producing Artistic Director at Women’s Project Theater), Anna Kull (Director of Community Relationships at Lark Play Development Center), Alex Hernandez (Mafia 3, Unreal), Neil Pepe (Artistic Director of the Atlantic Theater Company), Jason Butler Harner (Ray Donovan, Blacklist, Changeling), Kristen Jackson (Connectivity Director of Wooly Mammoth Theatre), Charles Haugland (Artistic Programs & Dramaturgy, Huntington Theatre Company), Erica Sartini-Combs (Associate Casting Director, Goodman Theatre), Stowe Nelson (New York Innovative Theatre Award winning and Drama Desk Award nominated Sound Designer), Jason Pacella (Production Assistant for The Wiz Live!), and Actors Theatre’s Associate Artistic Director Meredith McDonough. The Professional Training Company provides an avenue for future theatre leaders to network with alumni of the program across the country.

Actors Theatre’s Professional Training Company is generously supported by a significant grant from The Roy Cockrum Foundation. The $1.2 million award supports grants over a ten-year period for each apprentice during the nine-month program, and enables year-round employment for the program’s leadership. Founded by Roy Cockrum, the Foundation supports world-class performing arts projects in not-for-profit professional theatres throughout the United States. The Foundation considers grants by invitation only and is dedicated to helping nonprofit theaters reach beyond their normal scope of activities and undertake ambitious and creative productions.

Apprenticeships for the 2017-2018 Season have been awarded to:

  • Andrea Abello | Acting | Bedminster, New Jersey
  • Vivian Barnes | Dramaturgy/Literary Management | Stafford, Virginia
  • Jordan Bean | Producing & Casting | Huntington, West Virginia
  • Calum Bedborough | Acting | Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
  • Bear Brummel | Acting | Green Bay, Wisconsin
  • Sergio Caetano | Acting | Kearny, New Jersey
  • Satya Chavez | Acting | San Diego, California
  • Jelani Cornick | Directing | Brooklyn, New York
  • Shannon Csorny | Production Management | Stonybrook, New York
  • Gabriela De La Rosa | Festival & Events Management | Austin, Texas
  • Nayib Felix | Acting | Manchester, Pennsylvania
  • Brandon Fox | Acting | Wall, New Jersey
  • Kevin Hanley | Stage Management | Seabrook, New Hampshire
  • Rigel Harris | Acting | Lebanon, New Hampshire
  • Laurel C. Henning | Communications | Louisville, Kentucky
  • Nathan Hewitt | Development | Fishers, Indiana
  • Kelly Jonske | Stage Management | Barrington, Illinois
  • Alaina Kai | Acting | Cincinnati, Ohio
  • Emily Kaplan | Acting | Media, Pennsylvania
  • Jessica Kemp | Stage Management | Saranac Lake, New York
  • Emily Kleypas | Acting | Temple, Texas
  • Bridget Kojima | Company & Artistic Management | Clarkston, Michigan
  • Emma Kravig | Costumes | Saint Croix Falls, Wisconsin
  • Jerardo Larios | Acting | Merced, California
  • Meghan McLeroy | Dramaturgy/Literary Management | Cullman, Alabama
  • Joseph Miller | Acting | Dayton, Ohio
  • Abigail Miskowiec | Education/Teaching Artist | Charleston, West Virginia
  • Connor O’Leary | Properties | Hanover, New Hampshire
  • Tory Parker | Marketing | Charleston, West Virginia
  • Tim Peters | Acting | Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
  • Dwaine Jihaad Potts | Sound | Wichita, Kansas
  • Marika Proctor | Acting | Saint Paul, Minnesota
  • Margaret Rial | Stage Management | Erie, Pennsylvania
  • Zoe Rosenfeld | Education/Teaching Artist | San Francisco, California
  • Omer Abbas Salem | Acting | Darien, Illinois
  • Jonathan Schmitt | Acting | Cleveland, Ohio
  • Joan Sergay | Directing | Bethesda, Maryland
  • Jessie Lynn Smith | Lighting | Cresco, Pennsylvania
  • Corey Umlauf | Scenic Painting | Bellingham, Massachusetts
  • Suzy Weller | Acting | Lawrence, Kansas
  • Karoline Xu | Acting | San Antonio, Texas
  • Jenna Zhu | Acting | Dallas, Texas

For more information about the Professional Training Company contact Sara Durham, Public Relations Manager, at SDurham@actorstheatre.org.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *