Tuesday April 23, 2024
News Sections

13 JCPS Seniors Awarded Vogt Educational & Leadership Scholarships

Thirteen seniors from Jefferson County Public Schools (JCPS) have been awarded the 2018 Vogt Educational & Leadership Scholarship, which recognizes the students for their academic achievements and leadership in and out of the classroom. The students will be celebrated for their accomplishments during the annual awards luncheon, being held at noon on Monday, March 19 at The Olmsted, 3701 Frankfort Ave.

Prior to his death in 1999, Henry V. Heuser Sr. established the endowed scholarship fund at the Community Foundation of Louisville to provide $10,000 college scholarships annually to remarkable JCPS high school seniors. This special award honors exceptional students throughout Jefferson County who have demonstrated high standards of scholarship, leadership, character and citizenship. Including this year, more than $2.9 million has been awarded to 291 students.

Henry V. Heuser Jr. will host the annual awards luncheon to present the scholarships. He will be joined by Louisville Mayor Greg Fischer, JCPS Superintendent Dr. Marty Pollio, JCPS principals, more than 100 business and community leaders, and several university and college presidents from the region who have contributed additional scholarship incentives if the awardees attend their colleges.

Student winners are selected based on SAT/ACT scores and cumulative GPAs, as well as demonstrated community and campus leadership, participation in extracurricular activities, and recommendations from principals and community leaders.

The 2018 Vogt Educational & Leadership Scholarship recipients are:

  • Franklin Alongi, Atherton High School
  • Brian Knapp, Ballard High School
  • Randi House, Butler Traditional High School
  • Nora Alshimary, Brown School
  • Madison Sneve, DuPont Manual High School
  • Jovita Devasia, Eastern High School
  • Patrick Ryan, Fern Creek High School
  • David Do, Fairdale High School
  • Rachel Roberts, Jeffersontown High School
  • Kaylee Coleman, Louisville Male High School
  • Madison Shely, Marion C. Moore School
  • Ryan Finley, Southern High School
  • Oliver Kratholm, Waggener High School

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *