Wednesday May 22, 2024
News Sections

Secretary Grimes Recognizes Annual Essay Contest Winners

Secretary of State Alison Lundergan Grimes on Thursday recognized four Kentucky high school students for winning her office’s 29th annual essay contest. She held a ceremony at Rupp Arena during the Whitaker Bank/KHSAA Boys’ Sweet 16 Basketball Tournament.

The winners in their respective grades are:

  • 9th Grade – Nevaeh Hope Dearmond (Logan County High School, Russellville)
  • 10th Grade – Chloe Morgan Watkins (Logan County High School, Russellville)
  • 11th Grade – Anna Frances Baskin (Henry Clay High School, Lexington)
  • 12th Grade – Victoria Kelly Brunson (Craft Academy at Morehead State University)

“Just yesterday, I stood hand in hand with students as they let their voices be heard about gun violence and safety in schools. Everywhere you turn, young people are driving engagement in their schools, their communities, and in Kentucky,” said Grimes. “These four young women are incredible representatives of all the young people who getting up, getting out, and getting loud right now. I know Kentucky’s future is very bright.”

Created in 1988, the Secretary of State’s essay contest serves to inspire students to be active and informed citizens, with particular emphasis on election-related issues. High school students are invited to write essays regarding the First Amendment and elections. Entries were judged on research and understanding of voting and the First Amendment, idea development, organization, language and correctness. The University of Kentucky Scripps Howard First Amendment Center judges the anonymous contest entries.

Each winner received a $1,000 cash scholarship made possible by the Office of Secretary of State and its partners, KEA and KEA Retired, the University of Kentucky Scripps Howard First Amendment Center and the Kentucky Department of Education.

Winners of the slogan contest, which is open to students in grades 6 through 8, will be announced separately.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *