Thursday July 25, 2024
News Sections

Four teachers from Jefferson County Public Schools (JCPS) have been selected for 2018 Valvoline Teacher Achievement Awards (TAA), the Kentucky Department of Education (KDE) announced last week. The four join 20 other teachers throughout the state in competing for the 2018 Kentucky Teacher of the Year Award, which will be announced in May.

The teachers include:

·       Mandy Ridenour, a fifth-grade teacher at Audubon Traditional Elementary School;

·       Kim Joiner, a drama teacher at Noe Middle School;

·       Apryl Moore, a science teacher at the Academy @ Shawnee; and

·       Taylor Clements, a math teacher at Atherton High School.

“It’s always rewarding to be recognized for excellence in your field, but when that field is teaching our young people, the award takes on a special significance,” JCPS Superintendent Dr. Donna Hargens said.  “I want to congratulate all the award recipients – I know you do the jobs that you do not for the accolades, but for the love of teaching, and that makes the real winners our students whose lives you touch.”

All 24 teachers will be honored at a May 16 ceremony in Frankfort, during which the Kentucky Elementary, Middle and High School Teachers of the Year will be named.   The Kentucky Teacher of the Year will be selected from this group of three finalists, and will represent the state in the National Teacher of the Year competition.

The Kentucky Teacher Achievement Awards and the Kentucky Teacher of the Year programs are sponsored by Valvoline.