Thursday June 13, 2024
News Sections

16 JCPS Seniors Awarded Vogt Educational & Leadership Scholarships

Sixteen seniors from Jefferson County Public Schools (JCPS) have been awarded the 2017 Vogt Educational & Leadership Scholarship, which recognizes the students for their academic achievements and leadership in and out of the classroom.  The students will be celebrated for their accomplishments during the annual awards luncheon, held yesterday at The Olmsted, 3701 Frankfort Ave.

Prior to his death in 1999, Henry V. Heuser Sr. established the endowed scholarship fund at the Community Foundation of Louisville to provide $10,000 college scholarships annually to remarkable JCPS high school seniors. This special award honors exceptional students throughout Jefferson County who have demonstrated high standards of scholarship, leadership, character and citizenship. Including this year, more than $2.7 million has been awarded to 278 students.

Henry V. Heuser Jr. will host the annual awards luncheon to present the scholarships. He will be joined by Louisville Mayor Greg Fischer, JCPS Superintendent Dr. Donna Hargens, JCPS principals, more than 100 business and community leaders, and several university and college presidents from the region who have contributed additional scholarship incentives if the awardees attend their colleges.

Student winners are selected based on SAT/ACT scores and cumulative GPAs, as well as demonstrated community and campus leadership, participation in extracurricular activities, and recommendations from principals and community leaders.

The 2017 Vogt Educational & Leadership Scholarship recipients are:

  • RyAnn Schoenbaechler, Atherton High School
  • Laina Meyerowitz, Ballard High School
  • Sylvia Ramsey, Butler Traditional High School
  • Matthew Sato, Brown School
  • Jasmine Scott, Central High School Magnet Career Academy
  • Lydia Mason, duPont Manual High School
  • Evan Conder, Eastern High School
  • Shan’Taya Cowan, Fairdale High School
  • Mary Daniels, Iroquois High School
  • Anna Nelson, Jeffersontown High School
  • Cameron Fontes, Louisville Male High School
  • Johnathan Frech, Pleasure Ridge Park High School
  • Julia Easley, Seneca High School
  • James Painter, Southern High School
  • Kelsey Gatton, Valley High School
  • Ethan Taylor, Waggener High School

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *